LPGA List Of Majors 2013


The LPGA‘s list of majors has changed several times over the years. The two most recent changes were:

  • In 2001, the du Maurier Classic, held in Canada, lost its primary sponsorship after that country passed severe restrictions on tobacco advertising. The tournament, now known as the Canadian Women’s Open, is still a regular event on the LPGA Tour, but with a somewhat lower profile. The LPGA replaced the du Maurier Classic on its list of majors with the Women’s British Open.
  • In 2013, The Evian Championship, held in France, will become the fifth LPGA major. Known before 2013 as the Evian Masters, it is one of two events recognized as majors by the LPGA’s European counterpart, the Ladies European Tour (LET). The elevation of this event to LPGA major status and the name change were announced by the LPGA on July 20, 2011.[1]

In the order in which they are played each year, the (four) current and (one) future majors are:

Before The Evian Championship became the fifth LPGA major, the setup of women’s majors closely paralleled that of the mainstream (i.e., under-50) men’s majors. In both cases, the United States hosts three majors and the United Kingdom one. The Evian Championship, as noted above, is held in France. The U.S. and British Opens match their male equivalents, and the LPGA Championship is analogous to the PGA Championship, so by default the Kraft Nabisco Championship is the closest equivalent of The Masters. In any event, the Kraft Nabisco and Masters share several characteristics—both are the first majors of their respective seasons; both are held at the same course every year; and both have a unique tradition surrounding the winner, namely the presentation of the green jacket at The Masters, and the jump into the 18th-hole pond at the Kraft Nabisco.

Unlike the mainstream men’s equivalents, with the sole exception of the U.S. Women’s Open, the women’s majors have title sponsors. This is more similar to the setup for the five senior (50 and over) men’s majors; two of those events have title sponsors, and two others have presenting sponsors whose names appear after the tournament title. Similarly differing to the mainstream men’s majors, none of which fall under the direct jurisdiction of any professional golf tour, the LPGA organizes two of its majors, namely the Kraft Nabisco and LPGA Championship. The U.S. Women’s Open, like its men’s counterpart, is operated by the United States Golf Association. The Women’s British Open is operated by the Ladies’ Golf Union, the governing body for women’s golf in the United Kingdom and Ireland. The Evian Championship is operated by the LET. Again, this setup more closely mirrors that of the senior majors; the Champions Tour directly operates two of its majors.

From 2006 through 2008, the winners of the four women’s majors received automatic entry to the LPGA’s season championship, the LPGA Tour Championship. Beginning in 2009, the Tour Championship extended entry to all players in the top 120 on the official LPGA Money List. Starting in 2011, the Tour Championship was replaced by the CME Group Titleholders; the top three finishers at all official tour events, including the majors, who have not already qualified for the Titleholders will earn entries. The PGA Tour’s season-ending FedEx Cup playoffs are a series of four events; while major winners are technically not guaranteed entry into even the first playoff event, the FedEx Cup point allocations for major winners are sufficiently high that the winner of one major is essentially assured of making the top 125 in points and qualifying for the FedEx Cup playoffs. The Champions Tour has no season-ending championship as such; although its final event, the Charles Schwab Cup Championship, is a limited-field event analogous to the PGA Tour’s Tour Championship, it does not directly determine the championship of the season or even the Charles Schwab Cup points race.


Including The Evian Championship, eight different events are classified as having been LPGA majors at some time. The number in each season has fluctuated between two and five. The first tournament which is now included in the LPGA’s official list of major victories is the 1930 Women’s Western Open, although this is a retrospective designation as the LPGA was not founded until 1950.[2]


Fourth era (2013–onwards)
Year Kraft Nabisco Championship LPGA Championship U.S. Women’s Open Women’s British Open The Evian Championship
2013 April 4-7, Mission Hills Country Club June 6-9, Locust Hill Country Club June 27–30, Sebonack Golf Club August 1-4, Old Course at St Andrews September 12-15, Evian Masters Golf Club